Hope

hope ave and change wayToday I received an invitation to submit a pitch for a blog. I know you’re thinking, “so what?” For me, it was huge. It gave me hope, something I’ve been sorely lacking these last several months. I realize the chance of them picking up this pitch and letting me run with it is pretty slim, but until I get that rejection email, there’s still hope.

Some people say that having hope is everything, while others say hope is your way of procrastinating – If you’re “hoping,” you’re not “doing.” I think I’m somewhere in the middle.  To lose all hope is to stop completely, to curl up in that tiny ball in the corner of the room and let the blackness envelope you. However, doing nothing but hope is the equivalent of standing around waiting for something to happen.

Like the picture above, I believe that hope brings about change. If you lose hope, you lose the ability to not only propel yourself to change in the direction you wish, but you tempt fate to make those choices for you. And, as we know, fate isn’t always kind in its choices.

So, I will hope that these folks think they’re reading the best blog pitch ever, but I won’t count on it. If not, I’ll hope for the next thing that will lead me through to the change I desperately seek.

 

Leave a Reply

